Committee on Australian Studies

The Committee on Australian Studies was established in 1976 with the creation of the Visiting Professorship in Australian Studies, funded by a gift from the Australian Government. Since that time, Harvard has invited distinguished visiting scholars, on an annual basis, who represent various fields of specialization. Additionally, the Committee awards scholarships to both undergraduates and graduates to support research and/or field work relating directly to a senior honors thesis or a doctoral thesis in the area of Australian Studies. The Committee also provides grants of up to $40,000 to support academic conferences/symposia organized jointly by Australian scholars and Harvard faculty.