Grants, Fellowships

Jacob Weidenman Prize

This prize may be awarded annually to the landscape architecture student who has shown outstanding ability and talent in design. 

Urban Planning and Design Thesis Prize

Upon recommendation of the faculty in the Department of Urban Planning and Design, a prize is given to the graduating student in the programs leading to the degrees MAUD, MLAUD, or MUP who has prepared the best independent thesis during that academic year.

Award for Outstanding Leadership in Urban Planning and Urban Design

This award honors graduating students in the urban planning and urban design programs who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their respective programs during their time at the Graduate School of Design.

Pforzheimer Fellowships

These fellowships were established by a gift of the Carl and Lily Pforzheimer Foundation to provide fellowships in support of community and public service. 

Norman T. Newton Prize

In 1992, Mrs. Norman T. Newton created a fund in memory of her late husband, Norman T. Newton, professor emeritus of the GSD, for an annual prize to be awarded to a graduating landscape architecture student whose work best exemplifies achievement in design expression as realized in any medium.

Kevin V. Kieran Prize

This prize was established in 2001 with gifts from family and friends, in memory of Kevin Kieran, former faculty member and graduate from the Master in Architecture program in 1985. 

James Templeton Kelley Prize

On nomination by the faculty in the Department of Architecture, the Boston Society of Architects, a chapter of the AIA, awards the James Templeton Kelley Prize annually for the best final design project submitted by a candidate for the professional degree in architecture.

Faculty Design Award

Upon recommendation of the faculty in the Department of Architecture, this award is presented annually to a graduating student from each of the MArch I and MArch II programs. It is given in recognition of significant achievement throughout the relevant program's design studio sequence.

Araldo Cossutta Annual Prize for Design Excellence

This award was established in 1994 through an endowment by New York architect Araldo Cossutta, MArch '52. It is presented annually to a student of merit who has successfully completed the core program for MArch I and whose design consistently shows outstanding promise.

Community Service Fellowship Program

CSFP is a 10 week summer program in which GSD students work with nonprofit organizations in paid summer internships. 


Subscribe to RSS - Grants, Fellowships